Protecting the interests of cities, the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is committed to bringing local urban governance agenda at the forefront of the country’s development strategies. As the mandated organization of all Philippine cities, the LCP believes effective change in the national consciousness starts with the primary visions of the local government units.


On July 25, 1987, former President Corazon C. Aquino issued Executive Order No. 262 that created the League of City Mayors of the Philippines. Then Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. was elected as its founding President and Lipa City Mayor Ruben L. Umali as the Secretary-General.


During that time, local government units – provinces, cities, municipalities, and the barangays (villages) – clamored for genuine reforms. The local chief executives lobbied for a new Local Government Code which granted the national government to only supervise and not control the LGUs.


After years of hard advocacy work, the 8th Congress approved the Republic Act 7160 or the Local Government Code on October 10, 1991. Under the Code’s Section 499, the LCP is finally institutionalized for the “primary purpose of ventilating, articulating, and crystallizing issues affecting city government administration.”


The change in nomenclature from the League of City Mayors also transformed the character of LCP from an organization of political personalities to a membership-based institution where the Cities – and not their political leaders – are accountable entities.


Through the years, the LCP has remained a reckoning force in pursuing genuine local autonomy through its services to its member-cities ranging from administrative to policy development, technical, and programs support.


In the organization, the LCP has the National Executive Board, its highest policy-making body that is chaired by the National Chairman. The NEB is composed of 30 voting members. It also has a Secretariat jointly supervised by the President and Secretary-General.

Alberto C. Agra
March 27, 2017
Alberto C. Agra is back in pubic service. Last November 7, 2016, he was appointed Chairman of the Board of the Philippine Reclamation Authority, the infrastructure development authority focused on reclamation. He was the former Acting Secretary of Justice, Acting Solicitor General and Government Corporate Counsel.
Call for Applications: YSEALI Professional Fellows Program
February 28, 2017
The League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) and International County/City Management Association (ICMA), with the US State Department are opening applications for two Professional Fellows Programs (PFPs) under the Young Southeast Asian Leaders' Initiative (YSEALI)
13th CBMS - Philippines National Conference
February 14, 2017
The 13th Community Based Monitoring System (CBMS) - Philippine National Conference will be held on March 1-3, 2017 at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria
Survey on Capacity Assessment for Climate Change Adaptation and Disaster Risk Assessment (CCA/DRRM)
November 3, 2016
The United Nations-Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) has requested the support of the League of Cities of the Philippines to assess the capacities of City Planning and Development Coordinators (CPDCs) or Technical person in charge with Climate Change Adaptation/Disaster Risk Assessment (CCA/DRRM).